Why does my refund/balance change when I press Check & Optimize?
When you press Check & Optimize, we run some calculations to see if we can increase your refund. Certain credits won’t get added until you press this button.
You should only ever see your balance go down or your refund go up when you click this button. If you have linked returns with your partner, we look at the total balance/refund, so there’s a chance that one person’s refund might decrease a bit; rest assured the other person’s increased refund has more than offset the change!